A poem about insecurity, masculinity, doubt and strength

Aaron Kara
3 min readDec 10, 2018
Credit: BW anime art

I think sometimes, that I made the wrong choice.
See it’s not as easy as you think being nice because there very much is a choice behind that smile
That sweet gentle passive beguile

Sometimes I feel like I’m surrounded by morons, big lumbering idiots, slack-jawed, overly burdened with your decorative muscle, dribbling over some poor girls affection or god-forbid your own reflection
But then I realise that the girl in question, turns to the empty headed tinder addict offering a coy smile,
She likes the attention
And I just spent an hour and a half talking about her life, giving her advice and generally being nice and I receive no respite! Bastards!
They’re all troglodytes and these clubs are their caves
This mess of short dressed heathens and their courtly routines, I hate them

Or myself,
Is it that I’m bitter and green because I would rather be the hero of this scene, is it spite that I feel?

Would I give away my open heart and gentle smile just to be the man’s man for a little while?
Could I just be the muscle for a one nights tussle?
Should I change my character because I chose the wrong story…

--

--

Aaron Kara

Writer/actor/poet/idiot. Trying to provide light-hearted content and the occasional serious poem about life and stuff, but mostly stuff